Pockets of Growth

I read somewhere recently this phrase “pockets of growth” and I wish I could reference it. I like the thought. If you’re like me and assume there’s more downside to come in the economy, and yet you are struggling to be an optimist and logical at the same time, pockets of growth is a good meme, particularly because I think it is both prescriptive and descriptive.

Seek pockets of growth. Don’t expect general growth.

Pockets of growth are implicitly small — the phrase connotes small, perhaps hidden, perhaps elusive, perhaps protected, perhaps surrounded by its opposite, collectively less than the whole.

Leave a Reply

